
The Kinsman KEatlery set holds four pieces: a knife, a fork, a teaspoon and a soup spoon. The listing states each utensil weighs approximately 7.2 ounces and that the pieces are made of polished 18/0 stainless steel. Kinsman also states a finger indentation in the handle and that the set is dishwasher safe. Weighted Utensils read the Amazon listing, where buyers rate it 4.5 out of 5 across 369 ratings.
Start with the tremor and Parkinson's hub if this is a first purchase, then the handle sizing guide for the numbers behind this design.
| Reference weight | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| KEatlery, per piece | 7.2 oz (about 204 g) | Amazon listing |
| Everyday dinner fork | 40 to 60 g | xrcutlery.com |
| Everyday spoon | 40 to 70 g | xrcutlery.com |
| Usual starting range | 6 to 8 oz | eldershoppe.com, thenri.org, innow.org |
| Moderate to severe tremor band | 7 to 8 oz | mobileandaccessible.com |
| Spec | Amazon listing | Other published figures |
|---|---|---|
| Weight per piece | 7.2 oz | 7.3 oz (wiki.ezvid.com); approximately 8 oz (essentialtremor.org) |
| Alloy | 18/0 stainless | 18/0 (eldershoppe.com); 18/8 (essentialtremor.org) |
| Handle length and diameter | Not stated by the maker | None published |
| Dishwasher ceiling | Not stated by the maker | 125 F on Sure Grip and Independent Living (performancehealth.com, independentliving.com) |
| Set | Weight per piece | Amazon rating |
|---|---|---|
| Kinsman KEatlery, 4 pieces | 7.2 oz per the listing | 4.5 out of 5 across 369 ratings |
| Vincere, 4 pieces | Minimum 7 oz; 1.8 lb for 4, about 7.2 oz each | 4.7 out of 5 across 1,161 ratings |
| Vive, 4 pieces | 7 oz (medicalnewstoday.com); 7.4 to 7.9 oz (rehabmart.com) | 4.5 out of 5 across 530 ratings |
| Celley, 4 pieces | 7 oz per piece | 4.5 out of 5 across 494 ratings |
This is a fixed-weight set, so the load sits in the handle and cannot be removed or topped up. That places it in the 6 to 8 oz band that eldershoppe.com, thanri.org and innow.org all name as the usual starting range, and that michaeljfox.org describes as approximately one-half pound. mobileandaccessible.com puts 7 to 8 oz against moderate to severe tremor and 4 to 5 oz against light tremor. Read our tremor weight guide before you pick a band.
What the numbers do not tell you: no page in our source set cites a named peer-reviewed trial of weighted cutlery, and no source publishes a fatigue threshold. So treat 7.2 oz as a practitioner convention, not a dose. An occupational therapist measures grip strength and hand span, watches a full meal and records spills before recommending a weight class.
A standard dinner fork runs 40 to 60 g and a standard spoon 40 to 70 g, per xrcutlery.com. At 7.2 oz, roughly 204 g, each KEatlery piece carries about three to five times that mass. The extra mass adds inertia, which is the whole mechanism here.
Four hosts repeat the 6 to 8 oz range, so 7.2 oz sits mid-band rather than at either edge. That matters if you are unsure of severity: you are not buying the heaviest option available. Sammons Preston Sure Grip and Independent Living both add 8 oz per piece, and brilliantinnovate.com builds to 200 to 250 g.
thanri.org is the only source in our set that states a limit: extra weight may not provide enough stability for severe tremor or rigidity, and weighted utensils may stop working in later-stage Parkinson's.
Three numbers for this set disagree across sources, so we list all of them rather than pick one. The weight and the alloy both shift depending on where you read.
The alloy split matters for washing. 18/0 contains no nickel, so it resists corrosion less well than 18/8 or 18/10 steel. Vincere states 18/10 and training2care.com states 18/10, so KEatlery sits below those on paper if the Amazon figure is the correct one.
The listing does not state handle length or handle diameter. For comparison, performancehealth.com publishes a 4 in handle at 1.5 in diameter for Sure Grip, and independentliving.com publishes 4.5 in at 1 in. Kinsman publishes neither, so measure your own hand span first.
Kinsman states dishwasher safe in both the bullets and the spec table, with no temperature limit given. That is a real advantage over the Bonuci 6-piece set, whose listing states hand wash only. Two comparable ranges cap the wash at 125 F, so if your machine runs hot, wash these on the top rack and inspect the polish after a month.
Polished 18/0 steel shows water spots and scratches. Dry the pieces by hand if your water is hard. Solid metal handles have no rubber grip to peel or split, which removes the most common failure mode we see described on built-up handles.
For care homes and schools, note that Kinsman does not publish a latex declaration or a Proposition 65 line for this set. Big-Grip contains natural rubber latex and carries a Prop 65 warning per performancehealth.com, and Vive is stated latex free per rehabmart.com. See our buying guides for the institutional cehcklist.
Four 4-piece sets cluster in the same weight band.
KEatlery is the only one of the four that ships both a teaspoon and a soup spoon rather than a second fork or a serrated knife. If you eat soup often, that pairing is the reason to pay the difference. If you need a rocker knife, none of these four include one.
Kinsman also sells open stock: the Deluxe KEatlery weighted soup spoon rates 4.6 out of 5 across 138 ratings. Replacing one lost piece is posible, which matters in shared dining rooms. Compare the whole class in our best weighted utensils roundup and the rest of our reviews.
Skip this set if thenri.org describes your situation: severe tremor or rigidity, where added weight may not provide enough stability. Skip it if you cut meat one-handed, because the included knife is not a rocker knife.




The Amazon listing states approximately 7.2 oz per utensil. wiki.ezvid.com lists 7.3 oz and essentialtremor.org lists approximately 8 oz for the same set. We report all three and treat the maker figure as the reference.
Yes, the listing states dishwasher safe in both the bullets and the spec table. No temperature ceiling is stated by the maker. Two comparable ranges, Sure Grip and Independent Living, cap their wash at 125 F, so treat hot institutional cycles with care.
No. The listing states one knife, fork, teaspoon and soup spoon. Vive includes a serrated table knife, and Big-Grip and Good Grips sample kits include a rocker knife per performancehealth.com and essentialtremor.org.
No source we read makes that claim with data. Not one of the 67 pages we checked cites a named peer-reviewed trial of weighted cutlery, and no page publishes a fatigue threshold. Added mass adds inertia, which practitioners use widely, but the dose is a convention rather than a tested figure.
Yes for the soup spoon. The Deluxe KEatlery weighted soup spoon rates 4.6 out of 5 across 138 ratings. That helps in a shared dining room where pieces go missing.
mobileandaccessible.com maps 4 to 5 oz to light tremor and 7 to 8 oz to moderate to severe tremor, and no source maps weight to grip strength. A built-up non-weighted handle, such as the 3.2 oz Rehabilitation Advantage teaspoon, is the lighter alternative. See our arthritis page for the grip comparison.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.