Weighted Utensils/Reviews/Celley 7 oz Weighted Utensils, 4 Piece Set
Our score 4.2 / 5

Celley 7 oz Weighted Utensils, 4 Piece Set

A woman in her sixties eating a rice bowl with chicken and vegetables at a table
VerdictWeight stated twice and agrees; handle specs missing
View price and photos

The Celley set puts four pieces on the table: a fork, a knife, a soup spoon and a table spoon, packed in a black gift box. The title states 7 oz, and the spec table lists an item weight of 198.45 g, which converts to 7.0 oz. Weighted Utensils reads those two figures as agreeing, which is uncommon in this category. The handles carry an Old English Bead pattern in polished stainless steel, with decorative struck beads along the top surface per the listing.

Context for the score: the tremor and Parkinson's hub and the weight classes guide.

Weight per piece:
7 oz stated in the title; item weight field reads 198.45 g (7.0 oz)
Best for:
Moderate hand tremor, arthritis, reduced fine motor control per the listing
Pieces:
4: fork, knife, soup spoon, table spoon, plus a black gift box
Handle:
Old English Bead pattern, polished finish; diameter and length not stated by the maker
Material:
Food-grade stainless steel per the listing; alloy grade not stated by the maker
Dishwasher safe:
Yes per the spec table; temperature ceiling not stated by the maker

What the listing states, and what it leaves out

SpecCelley listingReference point elsewhere
Weight per piece7 oz in the title; 198.45 g item weight fieldmichaeljfox.org: approximately one-half pound
Handle diameterNot stated by the makerSure Grip 1.5 in (performancehealth.com); Independent Living 1 in
Handle lengthNot stated by the makerSure Grip 4 in; Independent Living 4.5 in
Alloy gradeFood-grade stainless steel, grade not statedVincere 18/10; Kinsman listed as 18/0 and as 18/8 by different hosts
Latex contentNot stated by the makerVive stated latex free (rehabmart.com)
Dishwasher ceilingNot stated by the maker125 F (52 C) on Sure Grip and Independent Living
Rocker knifeNot included; the set lists one knifeBig-Grip and Good Grips sample kits include a rocker knife

Compared with other 7 oz sets

SetWeight per pieceAmazon rating
Celley 4-piece7 oz; 198.45 g item weight field4.5 out of 5 across 494 ratings
Vincere 4-pieceMinimum 7 oz; 1.8 lb for four4.7 out of 5 across 1,161 ratings
Vive 4-piece7 oz per medicalnewstoday.com; 7.4 to 7.9 oz per rehabmart.com4.5 out of 5 across 530 ratings
Kinsman KEatlery 4-piece7.2 oz on Amazon; approximately 8 oz per essentialtremor.org4.5 out of 5 across 369 ratings
BaseSmall angled7 oz, 42 degree angle, right-handed4.5 out of 5 across 218 ratings

The full review

01The review1 min read

Seven ounces sits in the middle of the band that four hosts repeat. eldershoppe.com, thenri.org and innow.org all name 6 to 8 ounces, and michaeljfox.org gives "approximately one-half pound" in a page authored by a student occupational therapist. mobileandaccessible.com maps 4 to 5 oz to light tremor and 7 to 8 oz to moderate to severe tremor. Not one of the 67 pages we read cites a named trial, so treat 7 oz as a supplier and clinician convention rather than a measured dose. We explain that gap in our tremor guide.

Amazon buyers rate it 4.5 out of 5 across 494 ratings. An occupational therapist measures grip strength, watches a full meal and trials weights before setling on a level.

02What the 7 oz figure means at the table1 min read

A standard dinner fork weighs 40 to 60 g and a standard knife 70 to 90 g, per xrcutlery.com. At 198.45 g, one Celley piece runs roughly three to four times a normal fork. That added mass is the whole mechanism: fixed weight in a solid handle, no battery, no counterbalance.

thenri.org sets the honest limit. It states weighted utensils work best for mild to moderate tremor, and that "for patients with severe tremors or rigidity, extra weight may not provide enough stability". It also warns that in later stages of Parkinson's the weight may stop helping. Nobody in the market publishes a fatigue threshold, so count spills and time one meal before and after you switch. Our trial method sits in the guides.

03What the listing states, and what it leaves out1 min read

Celley publishes weight, piece count, material class and dishwasher status. It does not publish the two numbers that decide whether a handle fits a stiff hand: diameter and length. Compare that with the manufacturer pages that do measure their handles.

Polished stainless also behaves differently from rubber. The listing describes a comfortable grip but names no texture, coating or non-slip surface. Readers with swollen joints should read our arthritis sizing notes before choosing a smooth metal handle.

04Care and washing1 min read

The spec table lists Dishwasher Safe, and a bullet says the steel "doesn't require polishing". No temperature limit appears anywhere on the listing. That matters in care homes: performancehealth.com caps Sure Grip at 125 F (52 C), and independentliving.com repeats the same 125 F ceiling for its 8 oz handles.

Solid metal helps here. There is no rubber grip to peel, no foam to soak and no plastisol coating to crack. By contrast, the Bonuci 6-piece set states hand wash only, and Big-Grip contains natural rubber latex plus a California Proposition 65 warning. Celley states none of those hazards, and states no clearance either, so institutional buyers should ask the seller for a temperature figure.

05Compared with other 7 oz sets1 min read

Five four-piece sets cluster in the same weight band. Celley stands out among the four-piece sets but loses on published detail. Vincere carries the highest review count in the weighted class, and Vive adds a serrated table knife plus a stated 60-day guarantee, though rehabmart.com lists it as non-returnable.

We score this set 4.2. The weight is stated in two places and the two figures agree, and the dishwasher line is clear. Points come off for the missing handle diameter, handle length, alloy grade, latex declaration and wash temperautre. See the full ranking in best weighted utensils and the rest of our reviews.

Pros and cons

What works

  • Weight appears twice and agrees: 7 oz in the title, 198.45 g in the spec field
  • Dishwasher safe per the spec table, with no rubber grip or foam to degrade
  • Four pieces cover a full place setting: fork, knife, soup spoon, table spoon, in a gift box

What does not

  • Handle diameter and length are not stated by the maker
  • No dishwasher temperature ceiling stated, unlike the 125 F figure on Sure Grip
  • Polished metal handles, with no textured or non-slip surface named
  • No latex-free or Proposition 65 declaration on the listing

Similar utensils we researched

A woman in her late sixties eating a rice bowl with chicken and vegetables at a table

BaseSmall Adaptive Utensils, 7 oz 42 Degree Angle

4.5 / 5 from 218 Amazon ratings
7 oz per piece
A woman in her late sixties eating a bowl of chicken noodle soup at a table

Micnce Weighted Utensils 3 Piece Set

4.6 / 5 from 80 Amazon ratings
7 oz per piece
A man in his sixties eating a plate of pancakes at a table

Kinsman KEatlery Weighted Utensils, 4-Piece Set

4.5 / 5 from 369 Amazon ratings
7.2 oz per piece
A parent and a teenager eating a bowl of chicken noodle soup at a table

Rehabilitation Advantage Weighted Fork Review: 6 oz Vinyl Handle

4.0 / 5 from 9 Amazon ratings
6.4 oz per piece

Questions people ask

How heavy is each piece?

The title states 7 oz and the spec table lists an item weight of 198.45 g, which is 7.0 oz. The listing does not break the figure down per piece type, so per-piece variation is not stated by the maker.

Is 7 oz the right weight for a hand tremor?

Four hosts name 6 to 8 oz as the usual range, and mobileandaccessible.com maps 7 to 8 oz to moderate or severe tremor. No page in our research cites a trial behind those numbers. An occupational therapist measures grip strength and watches a meal before recommending a weight.

Does the set include a rocker knife?

No. The listing states one knife, one fork, one soup spoon and one table spoon. Blade type and serration are not stated by the maker.

Can it go in the dishwasher?

The spec table lists it as dishwasher safe. No maximum temperature is stated by the maker, so institutional buyers should ask the seller for a figure before running it at high heat.

Is it latex free?

Not stated by the maker. Vive is stated latex free by rehabmart.com, and Big-Grip is stated to contain natural rubber latex by performancehealth.com.

Will it look like medical equipment at the table?

The handles use an Old English Bead pattern with a polished finish, so it reads as ordinary flatware rather than a rubber-handled aid. The set ships in a black gift box.

Check today's price on AmazonAmazon buyers rated it 4.5 out of 5 across 494 ratings when we recorded it on 2026-09-02. Prices change daily.
View price and photos

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.