
This is a three piece weighted set: one stainless steel fork, one knife and one spoon. The listing states each utensil weighs 8 oz and describes a contoured grip. It names Parkinson's, dementia and other neurological conditions as intended users. Weighted Utensils read the maker's page and found no handle length, handle diameter or alloy grade stated.
It belongs with the sets in the seniors and care hub; the handle sizing guide explains what the design does at the table.
| Product | Weight per piece | Pieces |
|---|---|---|
| Essential Medical Supply | 8 oz | 3 |
| Celley | 7 oz | 4 |
| Vincere | 7 oz minimum | 4 |
| Vive | 7 to 7.9 oz, sources differ | 4 |
| Kinsman KEatlery | 7.2 oz, sources differ | 4 |
| Sammons Sure Grip | 8 oz | Sold separately |
Eight ounces sits at the heavy end of the published convention. eldershoppe.com and thenri.org both put the usual range at 6 to 8 ounces per piece. michaeljfox.org describes weighted utensils as weighing approximately one half pound, which is the same figure. mobileandaccessible.com maps 7 to 8 ounces to moderate and severe tremor, and 4 to 5 ounces to light tremor.
That tradeoff means you are buying fewer pieces at a higher weight. Buyers who want a teaspoon or a soup spoon will need to source those separately. Amazon buyers rate it 4.5 out of 5 across 266 ratings.
The point of added mass is inertial loading: a heavier tool resists fast, small movements. No page in our source set cites a named trial of weighted cutlery, so treat the 6 to 8 oz figure as a supplier and clinician convention, not a measured dose.
That matters for this set because 8 oz is the ceiling of that convention, not the middle. xrcutlery.com puts an everyday dinner fork at 40 to 60 g and a table knife at 70 to 90 g. At 8 oz, or about 227 g, each piece here carries roughly four times the mass of a standard fork.
thenri.org is the only source that states where weight stops working. It writes that extra weight may not provide enough stability for severe tremor or rigidity, and that weighted utensils may no longer be effective in later stage Parkinson's. An occupational therapist assesses grip strength, shoulder endurance and tremor type before recommending a weight level.
Three numbers we look for are missing. Handle length, handle diameter and alloy grade are not stated by the maker. Compare that with performancehealth.com, which publishes a 4 in handle at 1.5 in diameter for the Sammons Preston Sure Grip, and independentliving.com, which publishes a 1 in diameter, 4.5 in handle.
Handle diameter decides whether a hand with limited finger flexion can close around the grip at all. Without a figure, you cannot size this set to a hand span before you buy. Measure the widest grip your user already manages, then compare after delivery.
The listing states dishwasher safe but gives no temperature ceiling. Sure Grip and Independent Living utensils are both rated dishwasher safe only to 125 F, which is a domestic cycle, not an institutional one. Care homes buying in volume should ask the seller before running these through a high temperature rack.
The competition mostly sells four pieces at 7 oz. The trade is straightforward: one more ounce of mass, one fewer piece in the drawer.
Kinsman's weight is disclosed inconsistently across sources: 7.2 oz on Amazon and eldershoppe.com, 7.3 oz on wiki.ezvid.com, and approximately 8 oz on essentialtremor.org. Its alloy is listed as 18/0 in two places and 18/8 in another. We flag both conflicts rather than pick a side.
The listing states the metal utensils are dishwasher safe and easy to clean, and that stainless steel resists wear. Solid steel with no rubber overmould removes the usual failure point: there is no glued grip sleeve to peel or split. There is also no latex declaration and no Proposition 65 note in the listing, unlike the Sure Grip and Big-Grip pages on performancehealth.com.
Trial it with numbers, not impressions. Count spills across five meals with the current cutlery, then count five meals with these. Time each meal. If spills fall but the last third of the meal slows down, weight fatigue is the likely cause and a 7 oz set is the next thing to test.
Read our weight and grip guides before ordering, and our tremor page for how tremor type changes what weight does.
Skip this set if the tremor is light. mobileandaccessible.com maps light tremor to 4 to 5 oz, and 8 oz may tire the shoulder before the plate is clear. Skip it too if the user needs a teaspoon, a soup spoon or a rocker knife, since this set ships three pieces only and singles are not offered.




The listing bullets state each stainless steel utensil weighs 8 oz. That is the top of the 6 to 8 oz range repeated by eldershoppe.com, thenri.org and innow.org.
Three: one fork, one knife and one spoon. There is no teaspoon and no soup spoon. Several rivals ship four pieces.
The listing does not say. Weight adds load to the wrist and shoulder, so an occupational therapist measures grip strength and endurance before recommending a weight. Built-up non-weighted handles start near 3.2 oz if load is the problem.
The listing states the metal utensils are dishwasher safe and easy to clean. No temperature ceiling is stated by the maker. For reference, performancehealth.com and independentliving.com both cap comparable utensils at 125 F.
Not stated by the maker. The listing describes a contoured grip only. If diameter matters for your hand, compare it against the published 1 in and 1.5 in figures on independentliving.com and performancehealth.com.
No source in our set proves it does. thenri.org writes that extra weight may not provide enough stability for severe tremor or rigidity, and may stop working in later stage Parkinson's. Trial it and count spills.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.