
This is a bendable weighted set: the shaft bends by hand so the bowl or tines meet the mouth at your angle, and the handle carries added weight to damp shake. When Weighted Utensils fetched the Amazon page on 2 September 2026, it returned no title text, no bullets and no spec table. Amazon buyers rate it 4.5 out of 5 across 347 ratings.
Context for the score: the tremor and Parkinson's hub and the bendable shaft guide.
That leaves the single most important number missing. Weight per piece is not stated by the maker, so you cannot match this set to the weight bands that the rest of the market publishes. eldershoppe.com, thanri.org and innow.org all put the working range at 6 to 8 ounces per piece, and michaeljfox.org describes weighted utensils as approximately one-half pound. None of those pages cites a trial, so treat the figure as a supplier and clinician convention.
This listing lacks a stated weight while some others do: the Special Supplies weighted and bendable spoon states 6 oz, and Big-Grip states 6 oz added weight. Mars Wellness sells a 3 piece bendable set with 4.4 out of 5 across 934 ratings. This listing is last on disclosure. Our 3.4 reflects a usable mechanism, marked down for four blank spec fields. See how we score in our reviews and read our disclosure.
Four fields that decide a purchase are absent: weight per piece, piece count, material and wash instructions. Competing sets fill at least two of those. Vincere states a minimum of 7 oz per piece, Celley states 7 oz, and Sammons Preston Sure Grip states 8 oz with a 4 in handle and a 1.5 in diameter.
We do not guess. Put the set on a kitchen scale the day it arrives and weigh each piece to the tenth of an ounce. Write the number on a label inside the drawer. If a piece lands under 4 oz, it belongs in the light band that one retailer guide maps to light tremor, not the 7 to 8 oz band that page maps to moderate and severe tremor.
We read 67 competitor and authority pages. Not one cites a named peer-reviewed trial of weighted cutlery. medicalnewstoday.com refers to a 2020 study without an author, journal or sample size. The 70 percent and 85 percent shake-reduction figures in circulation come from Liftware and GYENNO, the device makers.
thenri.org is the only source that says when weight stops working: extra weight may not provide enough stability for severe tremors or rigidity, and it may no longer be effective in later stages of Parkinson's. That matters more than any star rating. If you are chosing a band, start at our tremors guide and our weight class comparison.
Bend the shaft slowly with two hands, hold the head in a cloth, and stop once the bowl sits flat against your lip line. The listing publishes no bend limit and no bend-cycle figure, so set the angle once and leave it. Re-bending the same point repeatedly is the failure mode we watch for in this class.
Wash by hand until a temperature ceiling is published. Sammons Preston Sure Grip and the Independent Living weighted handles both state dishwasher safe to 125 F (52 C), and the Bonuci weighted set is hand wash only. Inspect the joint where the handle meets the shaft every week and press it sideways to check for play. More washing rules sit in our care guides.
Mars Wellness sells a bendable 3 piece, rated 4.4 out of 5 across 934 ratings, the largest review pool among bendable listings we tracked. Special Supplies states 6 oz and a 60-day warranty. Big-Grip states 6 oz added weight and is stated institutional dishwasher safe, but it contains natural rubber latex and carries a California Proposition 65 warning.
So the trade is plain. This set reports more ratings than most, yet it publishes no weight, no material and no warranty term. Latex-sensitive buyers and care homes will need one of the disclosed alternatives. Arthritis buyers comparing handle diameter should read our arthritis page, and older buyers our seniors page.
Skip this set if you need a documented weight for an occupational therapy plan or a funding claim, because the listing supplies none. Skip it if tremor is severe or rigidity is present, the situation thenri.org says extra weight may not steady. Institutional buyers who need a dishwasher temperature ceiling and a latex declaration should buy a set that prints both.
Not stated by the maker. The listing we fetched carried no spec table, and our search pool records only ratings. Weigh each piece on a kitchen scale when it arrives and write the number down.
Not stated by the maker. For reference, Sammons Preston Sure Grip and Independent Living weighted handles state dishwasher safe to 125 F (52 C), and the Bonuci weighted set is hand wash only. Hand wash this one until the maker publishes a limit.
No page in our 67-page review cites a named peer-reviewed trial of weighted cutlery. thanri.org calls weighted utensils most effective for mild to moderate tremors. Treat a new set as a trial and count spills before and after.
The listing gives no bend-cycle figure. Set the angle once, hold the head in a cloth while bending, than check the handle-to-shaft joint for sideways play at every wash.
Liftware Steady has a 1 hour charge covering roughly three meals, and GYENNO runs 180 minutes for three meals a day. Both shake-reduction percentages, 70 and 85, are company claims reported by medicalnewstoday.com.
An occupational therapist measures grip strength, watches a full meal, matches handle diameter to hand span, and re-tests after a set period. We report specifications and evidence; we do not give medical advice. Read about our desk.




As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.