Spec glossary: every term used in our reviews database
Weighted Utensils defines every spec term that appears in a row of our database, once, so a table never needs a footnote. We also define the terms the rest of the market leaves undefined, and we show how to read a product spec table with those terms in hand.
Why we define each term once
Every spec term we use in the database is defined once, here, so a row in a table never needs a footnote. If a term below is missing from a product listing, we record it as not disclosed rather than guessing.
The not disclosed flag appears often. Roughly half the weighted listings in our pool never state a weight at all, and most state no alloy, no handle diameter and no wash ceiling.
The protocol pairs the figure on the seller's listing with a 1 g scale reading, recorded side by side. The method sits on about, the rows sit in the reviews database.
Core spec terms in every database row
These are the fields we fill for each product. Read them before you compare two prices, because two sets described as 7 oz can mean two different masses in the hand.
Added weight
Mass put into the handle. Good Grips publishes 6 oz (170 g) added, Independent Living publishes 8 oz added. It excludes the utensil itself.
Total weight
What the finished piece reads on a scale. Celley publishes 7 oz, listed as 198.45 g.
Hollow handle
A handle with a cavity, which can be filled or refilled. The Rehabilitation Advantage adjustable model fills from 2 to 8 oz.
Fill medium
What sits inside a hollow handle: shot, epoxy or a solid bar. Shot can shift and rattle, a bar cannot.
Dishwasher ceiling
The highest wash temperature the maker stands behind. Sure Grip and Independent Living both publish 125 F (52 C).
Open stock
Pieces sold singly rather than only in a set. Independent Living and BunMo both sell that way.
Washout
A meal run with usual flatware between two test weights, so one weight does not contaminate the reading for the other.
Minimal clinically important difference
The smallest change we will call real. We require it to hold across at least five of seven logged meals.
Proposition 65 warning
A California labelling requirement. Sure Grip and Big-Grip both carry one. It is a label, not a recall and not a test result.
FDA cleared versus food contact compliant
calahealth.com describes Cala Trio as FDA cleared. A weighted fork is not a cleared device. LFGB and food contact compliance cover materials only.
How to read a product spec table with these terms
A spec table only helps if you know which field carries which meaning. Work down a row in this order and the comparison stops depending on the marketing line above it.
Read the weight field first and decide whether the figure is added or total. Good Grips publishes 6 oz added; Celley publishes 7 oz total, listed as 198.45 g.
Convert to grams. xrcutlery.com puts an everyday dinner fork at 40 to 60 g, so a 198 g fork runs about four times a 50 g one.
Measure the handle diameter against your own hand. The published bands are 1 in (Independent Living), 1 3/8 in (Big-Grip) and 1.5 in (Sure Grip).
Read the wash line as a ceiling, not a yes. Sure Grip and Independent Living both stop at 125 F (52 C). Bonuci is hand wash only.
Check whether single pieces sell. Independent Living and BunMo both sell open stock, so you can buy one spoon before a four piece set.
Check the returns line before the price. rehabmart.com flags Vive as non-returnable, and especialneeds.com flags youth utensils the same way.
Read our conflict flag last, then compare the two published numbers yourself.
Field
What a listing says
How we record it
Weight
6 oz added weight, Good Grips per essentialtremor.org
Added 170 g, total not disclosed
Weight
Approximately 7.2 ounces each, Kinsman KEatlery
Total 7.2 oz, conflict flagged
Handle diameter
1.5 in, Sure Grip per performancehealth.com
38 mm band, handle 4 in long
Dishwasher
Dishwasher safe to 125 F (52 C), independentliving.com
Ceiling 125 F, no institutional rating
Open stock
Pieces sold separately, independentliving.com
Open stock yes, single piece $13.95 inc tax
Any field the maker leaves blank is published as not disclosed, never estimated.
Scoring terms we publish that listings do not
Four fields in the tables come from bench work under this protocol rather than from a listing. They are defined here so a score can be argued with.
Silicone durometer (Shore A)
The hardness of a silicone or rubber handle. No listing in our set publishes a number, so we press each handle with a thumbnail and record a soft, medium or firm band.
Bariatric rating
A load rating the maker states on the product. performancehealth.com lists one on Big-Grip Weighted and Bendable. We record it as stated or absent and never restate a capacity the maker has not published.
Discreetness score
Our 1 to 5 rating of how much a piece looks like ordinary flatware. Celley uses an Old English Bead pattern, Kinsman markets elegant styling for discreet dining, Special Supplies uses coloured silicone.
Spec transparency score
Four fields checked per product: weight, alloy, handle diameter and dishwasher ceiling. Roughly half the weighted listings in our pool state no weight at all.
Shared review pool
One review count shown against two listings. The 9 piece and 6 piece lyforx foam tubing both show 508 reviews, and the blue and black 4.2 oz sets both show 135.
Terms the rest of the market does not define
Every entry below appears on none of the 67 competitor and authority pages we read, or appears once with no explanation. Each one changes a buying decision or a mealtime, so we define it here and build the supporting guide behind it later. The list is short on purpose: a term earns a card only when a buyer, a caregiver or a therapist would act differently for knowing it.
Handle taper and shoulder
Where the built-up handle meets the shaft dictates whether food residue collects at the joint.
Bowl depth and bowl volume of a spoon
KEatlery and Linelax both advertise a deeper bowl; nobody publishes millilitres.
Lowered outer fork prongs
training2care.com lowers the outer prongs to allow angled skewering. No other vendor documents this.
Utensil neck stiffness (bend force)
A bendable neck that re-bends during use is useless. Nobody publishes the force needed.
Borg rating of perceived exertion applied to eating
Lets a user say a 7 oz fork is "somewhat hard" rather than guess.
Modified Barthel Index feeding item
The score an OT will write in a note when justifying equipment.
Napkin, clothing protection and dignity-preserving covers
Bumkins uses silicone-backed fabric; adult equivalents are rarely discussed.
Airline security and a weighted knife
An 8 oz serrated knife in hand luggage is a predictable problem.
Disclosure and social scripts at a restaurant
Users report avoiding eating out; a script removes the barrier.
Bring any of these to a therapy appointment and the conversation starts from a measurement instead of a brand name. An occupational therapist can test grip, wrist rotation and seating, then write the equipment into a note. The measurements we record for every set are listed on the about page.
Which guide now carries each topic
The measurement work that used to sit beside this glossary has moved onto its own guides. The checklist below says where each topic lives now. We do not link a page until it exists, so read this as a map of the hub.
Mechanism: inertia, balance point and the four times multiplier over a 50 g household fork, in the how weighted utensils work guide on guides.
Added weight against total weight, with the conversion table, in the added versus total weight guide on guides.
The weight band finder and the published 6 to 8 ounce convention, in the what weight utensil do I need guide on guides.
Every efficacy claim in the market quoted with its host, in the evidence guide on guides.
The 14 day trial protocol with washout and log fields, in the 14 day trial guide on guides.
Fatigue arithmetic and the weight down plan for the last course, in the fatigue guide on guides.
Alloys, the magnet test, the 125 F ceiling, latex and Proposition 65, in the stainless steel grades, dishwasher and care, and latex and Prop 65 guides on guides.
Funding paperwork for Medicare, Medicaid waiver, VA, HSA and FSA and UK VAT relief, in the two funding guides on guides.
Being written next: bend force and safe re-bend limits for bendable shafts, and pivot friction for swivel utensils, both on guides; a printable handle diameter gauge in millimetres on arthritis; a printable spiral tremor self test on tremors.
How the glossary handles a published conflict
When two hosts publish different numbers for the same product, we print both and flag the row. We do not average them and we do not pick the flattering one.
Weigh the piece yourself on a kitchen scale if the difference changes your decision. A 7.2 oz reading and an approximately 8 oz reading sit in different weight bands.
Field in conflict
Published figures
Hosts
Kinsman KEatlery weight
7.2 oz, 7.3 oz, approximately 8 oz
Amazon and eldershoppe.com, one retail listing, essentialtremor.org
Kinsman KEatlery alloy
18/0, 18/8
Amazon and eldershoppe.com, essentialtremor.org
Vive weight
7 oz, 7.4 to 7.9 oz
medicalnewstoday.com, rehabmart.com
Vive price
$44.99, $46.99, $72.36 list
medicalnewstoday.com, Amazon and rehabmart.com
EasieEaters Curved price
$10.00, $39.20
especialneeds.com, rehabmart.com
Munchkin Raise review count
33,428, 334
Product data, search pool
Bonuci 6 piece weight
16 oz for the set, roughly 2.7 oz per piece
Amazon listing
The Bonuci listing also states the product is only suitable for people with mild symptoms, and hand wash only.
Where to go next
Condition specific work lives on its own hubs: tremor type triage on tremors, grip and joint sizing on arthritis, hand span sizing for children on kids, and dementia, stroke and care home purchasing on seniors.
Full specifications, weights and flagged conflicts sit in the reviews database, the picks by band sit on the roundup, and the measurement method sits on about. Start anywhere from the home page. Our commercial position is set out on disclosure.
Questions people ask
What is the difference between added weight and total weight?
Added weight is the mass put into the handle, so Good Grips publishes 6 oz (170 g) added and Independent Living publishes 8 oz added. Total weight is what the finished piece reads on a scale, so Celley publishes 7 oz, listed as 198.45 g. A 6 oz added piece and a 7 oz total piece are not the same object. We record both fields separately in every row.
Why does the database say not disclosed so often?
Because most listings never publish the field. Roughly half the weighted listings in our pool state no weight, and few state alloy, handle diameter or a wash ceiling. We flag the gap rather than estimate a number, then weigh and measure the piece ourselves where we hold one.
What does a Proposition 65 warning on a weighted utensil mean?
It is a California labelling requirement. Sure Grip and Big-Grip both carry one, per performancehealth.com. It is a label, not a recall and not a test result, and it tells you nothing about how the piece performs at a meal.
What is open stock and why does it matter?
Open stock means pieces sell singly rather than only in a set. Independent Living and BunMo both sell that way, with Independent Living at $13.95 inc tax per piece and BunMo at $10.68 per piece. Most people only need a spoon and a fork, so open stock cuts the cost of a first trial.
Is a weighted fork an FDA cleared medical device?
No. calahealth.com describes Cala Trio as FDA cleared, which is a device clearance. A weighted fork is not a cleared device and does not need to be. LFGB and food contact compliance, named by brilliantinnovate.com, cover materials only.
What is durometer, and why is it not on any listing?
Durometer on the Shore A scale describes how hard a silicone or rubber handle is. No listing in our set publishes a number, even though a handle that is too soft deforms and one that is too hard sheds grip. We press each handle with a thumbnail and record a soft, medium or firm band instead.
How do you decide a change in a trial is real?
We set a minimal clinicaly important difference before the trial starts, then require it to hold across at least five of seven logged meals. We also run a washout meal with usual flatware between two test weights. One good meal is not a result.
Can I take these terms to an occupational therapist?
Yes. An occupational therapist measures grip, pinch, wrist rotation and seating, then writes the equipment into a note. Bringing a weight in grams, a handle diameter in millimetres and a spill count starts that conversation from a measurement instead of a brand name.
Compare every set we have researchedFilter by need, weight class, mechanism and price.